Arte y Aves

Art, Birds, and other things: All Give Praise to the Creator

Books, Paintings, and Birds

“All good books are truer than if they had really happened and after you’re finished reading one you feel like it happened to you and it all belongs to you; the good and the bad, the ecstasy, the remorse, and sorrow, the people and places and how the weather was.”-E. Hemingway.

I stole that from Ted Dekker’s Facebook site. I just finished reading one of his books Blink for the 2nd time. I looked it up on his site and now it is called Blink of an Eye. Anyway, even though I remembered the story as I read it –familiar, yet forgetting what happens next– it kept me going, losing sleep and not getting my work done. I recommend it. It makes me think. A lot of books entertain greatly, but I forget them as fast as I read them. This one might stay with me a little longer than most.

I’ve been painting some on weekends. Since writing to you last I’ve finished two paintings, have three in the works, and one in mind. Last time I wrote about abstracts and none of them is abstract, but more realistic, which is my preference anyway. Here is a picture showing what I’ve been up to. More on that another day.

Lastly, I’ve been thinking about birds. My daughter lives in Ecuador (see link on the right) and we might visit her someday. When we do, we want to go armed with binoculars, a bird book, and a little knowledge of what we might see. So I’ve begun investigating. Nearly everything we will see will be new, so it won’t take much effort to add some birds to our list. And if we take a field trip or two… well, whether we see lots of birds or not, we’ll have fun adventuring with our daughter by our side.

4 Comments

  1. Linda

    Our son has lived and worked in a variety of countries and I always bought a new bird book before visiting him!

  2. I’ll bet you have quite a collection! How fun to bird in other lands!!

  3. Dave

    Reading, painting, and birding …. all good hobbies!

  4. I can’t wait till you visit!!!! 🙂

Leave a Reply

