Arte y Aves

Art, Birds, and other things: All Give Praise to the Creator

Not My Resolution

I tire of reading other’s people’s resolutions. No one keeps them anyway. And a week or month into the year, they are all forgotten. Oh, yes, there are things I think would be good to do, like paint more, lose some weight, clean my desk, read more books, be kinder in my relationships. But doesn’t everyone have things that they ought to do?

When my spirit grows faint within me, it is you who know my way. –Psalm 142:3

Being a person that likes dictionaries, I looked up the word “resolution”. My dictionary basically says that it is a determination or decision as to some future action. Perhaps the word has been so used and abused that it has lost some of that meaning at the beginning of a new year.

Farther down, the dictionary says,  “Music a) the passing of a dissonant chord (…) to a consonant chord “. I rather like that. I would like my life to be the passing of a dissonant chord to a consonant chord. This is something that I can’t do myself. But God can. So what I’d like during this year is for God to move the music of my life in such a way as to create consonance rather than dissonance. It’s not my resolution, it’s His.

The Lord will fulfill his purpose for me; your love, O Lord, endures forever. –Psalm 138:8

I hope that your New Year is filled with beautiful music from God.

1 Comment

  1. Dave

    Thank you for your neat thoughts and may what you’re praying for be true for all of us!

Leave a Reply

