Arte y Aves

Art, Birds, and other things: All Give Praise to the Creator

November 1 Birds

I’m excited!! I stepped into my yard today and saw lots of birds. Many are back from their spring and summer migration north, added to those that are here year-round. Today I have seen:

  • nashville warbler
  • wilson’s warbler
  • audubon’s warbler
  • lesser gold-finch
  • house finch
  • boat-tailed grackle
  • bewick’s wren
  • great kiskadee
  • northern beardless-tyrranulet
  • house sparrow
  • berylline hummingbird
  • ruby-throated hummingbird
  • white-winged dove
  • tropical kingbird

That’s pretty good for a few minutes of backyard birding here in the city of Oaxaca. I’ll be interested to see what shows up as the season progresses.

2 Comments

  1. I’m surprised you saw so many with the grackles around. Today, I saw a couple non-descript fluffy things on a power line (maybe doves?). That about concludes it for my birding today. Not quite the variety you get in the yard. 😀

    • There are always grackles around. I think the majority of birds ignore them. I only bother chasing them away when there are lots of them filling the tree.
      You need to get some binoculars so you can properly see those non-descript fluffy things. You might be surprised how many more you can identify.

Leave a Reply

